Round 4, Question 6 – Declared Lost

  1. TEST YOUR KNOWLEDGE: In a stroke-play competition, A hits his tee shot into a heavily-wooded area. He properly plays a provisional ball under Rule 18.3b and it comes to rest in the fairway. He searches for his original ball for one minute and declares it “lost”.  He walks over to his provisional ball and accidentally kicks it. He replaces it, but before he plays it and within 3 minutes of his starting searching, a spectator finds his original ball. He lifts the provisional ball and plays the original ball to the green. He takes two putts and tees off on the next hole. What is his score for the hole?

    • 1.
    • 2.
    • 3.
    • 4.