0 of 9 Questions completed
You have already completed the quiz before. Hence you can not start it again.
Quiz is loading…
You must first complete the following:
Time has elapsed
1. Your tee shot comes to rest in a red penalty area. You play the ball from the penalty area and it comes to rest in a large bush that is outside of the penalty area, so you decide to take lateral unplayable ball relief. You drop in the right way and the ball comes to rest in the relief area near where you first lifted your ball from. You again decide you cannot play it as it lies, so you proceed to take relief by playing a new ball from the teeing area. After playing from the tee, you take two more strokes to complete the hole. What is your score for the hole?
2. Your tee shot comes to rest against a boundary fence lining a public road that runs through the middle of the course. You decide it is unplayable and take back-on-the-line relief. When doing so, you drop on the other side of the road on a different hole and play back across the road to the hole you are playing. After playing out the hole and starting the next one, the committee learns of your actions. What is the ruling?
3. Your tee shot heads toward a red penalty area surrounded by closely-mown grass. After three minutes of searching, it is virtually certain that the original ball is in the penalty area. After about one more minute and before dropping a ball to take relief, the original ball is found outside the penalty area in an uncovered irrigation hole. What is the ruling?
4. Your tee shot comes to rest in shallow water at the edge of a small pond. During the rainy season, the pond is much larger and the committee marks it as a penalty area. But, because there is limited play during the uncomfortably hot summer months of the dry season, the committee chooses not to mark the area your ball came to rest in. You decide to treat the area as a penalty area and take lateral relief by estimating where your ball last crossed its natural boundary and play to the putting green. You then take two putts to complete the hole. What is your score for the hole?
5. For a stroke-play competition, the committee has defined a red penalty area using a painted red line on the ground. In painting the line, the committee did not include a portion of ground that is clearly inside the natural edge of the penalty area and after a heavy rain that area is filled with water. Your ball comes to rest in this area of water outside the painted line but inside the natural edge of the penalty area. You claim the ball is at rest in temporary water and take free relief at a spot that happens to also meet the requirements for lateral relief from the penalty area based on its natural edge. Another player in the group questions your procedure and you decide to ask the committee in the scoring area. How should the committee rule?
6. The committee has invoked Model Local Rule E-12 for the competition and you decide to take back-on-the-line relief from a red penalty area. You do not physically select the reference point and drop the ball in the right way about one foot right of the reference line and the ball rolls two feet forward into the penalty area but farther from the hole than where the ball last crossed the edge. Which one of the following is false?
7. In stroke play, your tee shot on a par-3 lodges in the grass face just above a greenside bunker. You decide the ball is unplayable and measure two club-lengths no closer to the hole. The extent of the two club-lengths reaches the putting green. You rake the footprints you left in the bunker, some of which were within two club-lengths of the ball and not nearer to the hole. You drop a ball on the putting green inside the two club-lengths and the ball comes to rest on the putting green. Before you can mark and lift the ball it begins to roll and comes to rest in the bunker but outside the area you raked. What is the ruling?
8. You hit your tee shot and it comes rest about five yards inside a edge of the penalty area, in a part of the penalty area that has been defined as a no play zone. (The rest of the penalty area is a “regular” penalty area from which played is allowed, meaning it is not a no play zone.) You determine the nearest point of complete relief from the no play zone in the penalty area that avoids interference from the part of the penalty area that is a no play zone. You drop a ball in the relief area determined and play it onto the putting green. You two-putt and then make a stroke to begin play of the next hole. What is the ruling?
9. With Model Local Rule E-12 in effect, your tee shot on a par-3 just carries a yellow penalty area and comes to rest in a greenside bunker. You treat the ball as unplayable and take back-on-the-line relief outside the bunker in a narrow strip of land between the bunker and the penalty area. Your chosen reference point on the line behind the bunker is a few inches in front of the penalty area. You drop a ball that lands on the yellow line and it rolls less than one club-length from the reference point, coming to rest inside the penalty area. You lift that ball to drop it again and this time it lands in the general area, rolls less than one club-length and comes to rest in the penalty area. You then lift the ball and place it on the spot in the general area where the ball landed on the second drop and play onto the putting green. At that point, another player questions your procedure and you consult a referee. What is the correct ruling?