See below for the quiz questions for the “Dropping Procedures” edition (Round 4) of the Short Course on the Rules.
THE FRONT NINE
0 of 9 Questions completed
You have already completed the quiz before. Hence you can not start it again.
Quiz is loading…
You must first complete the following:
Time has elapsed
1) As you are attempting to drop a ball correctly in the relief area, the ball accidentally hits the tee you placed in the ground to indicate the nearest point of complete relief. The ball strikes the tee before it hits the ground, but the dropped ball remains in the relief area. You play the ball as it lies. How many penalty strokes do you get, if any?
2) In taking relief from a cart path (immovable obstruction), you pick up your ball and drop it within the relief area. The ball rolls and comes to rest outside of the relief area, so you pick it up to drop a second time and notice a scuff on the ball, which was probably caused when your shot hit the path. Although the ball is not cut or cracked, you decide to get another ball from your bag. You drop the new ball in the right way and it comes to rest in the relief area. Which one of the following is correct?
3) True or False: If your caddie drops a ball for you in taking relief and drops the ball from knee height, the ball has been dropped in the “right way” according to Rule 14.3b.
4) You are dropping your ball when taking embedded ball relief in the fairway. The dropped ball hits your club that you left on the ground in the relief area and the ball comes to rest in the relief area. Which one of the following is false?
5) In stroke play, with no Local Rules in effect, your ball comes to rest in the general area close to a sprinkler head that interferes with your area of intended stance. The sprinkler head is in the fringe, two feet from the putting green. Which one of the following is true about taking free relief from the sprinkler head?
6) Which one of the following statements is true about dropping a ball in the “right way” according to Rule 14.3b?
7) You are taking relief from a red penalty area and want to use Rule 17.1d(3) – Lateral Relief. You drop a ball from knee height and it lands in the relief area, but rolls and comes to rest in the same penalty area. You drop a second time from knee height and the ball lands just outside the relief area and comes to rest inside it. Knowing you get one penalty stroke for taking relief from the penalty area, what must you do to avoid further penalty?
8) True or False: When you are required or allowed to take stroke-and-distance relief, your relief area may include more than one area of the course.
9) You find your ball in a bush left of the fairway near a bunker. You decide to take lateral relief under the unplayable ball Rule. To get as far away from the bush as possible, you try to drop on the grass near the bunker. When attempting to drop a ball in the grass, it first touches sand in the bunker and embeds. You measure and find that the ball in the bunker is within two club-lengths of and no closer to the hole than where the ball was in the bush. Which one of the following is correct?